Cristiano Ronaldo
Cristiano Ronaldo
Image Credit: PA

The Portuguese manager Fernando Santos announced Portugal’s 26-man squad for the upcoming FIFA World Cup in Qatar, which will feature Cristiano Ronaldo as the team’s captain. Ronaldo will represent Portugal in his fifth FIFA World Cup, and given his advancing age, it will likely be his last. Although Ronaldo has not scored for Portugal in the last three appearances, he is instrumental in the squad’s campaign in Qatar. Earlier, he played a key role in the team’s victories at the 2016 European Championship and the 2019 UEFA Nations League. Ronaldo is a five-time Ballon d’Or winner and holds the record for most goals scored in men’s international games with 117.

Portugal’s star-studded lineup, put together by coach Fernando Santos, is quite formidable, making Portugal the clear favorite among football fans everywhere. The veteran Pepe, who was uncertain about being included in the squad following an injury scare, has also been included in the squad. This World Cup is also likely to be the last for the 39-year-old legendary defender. Other notable players in the squad include AC Milan’s Rafa Leao, Wolves’ Ruben Neves, Manchester City’s defender Joao Cancelo and midfielders Bernardo Silva and Bruno Fernandes.

There are several obvious additions to the team, but fans were shocked that Liverpool’s Diogo Jota and Paris Saint-Germain’s midfielder Renato Sanches did not make the team. Although Portugal has not officially given a reason for their exclusion, their absence from the major competition is most likely due to injuries. Jota, a star for Liverpool who was supposed to start for Portugal with Cristiano Ronaldo and Bernardo Silva, was forced to withdraw after suffering a calf injury during a Premier League match against Manchester City.

Portugal team for FIFA World Cup 2022

Portugal Twitter Handle
Image Credit: Portugal Twitter Handle


  • Diogo Costa (FC Porto)
  • Jose Sa (Wolverhampton Wanderers FC)
  • Rui Patricio (AS Roma)


  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)
  • Joao Felix (Atletico Madrid)
  • Rafael Leao (AC Milan)
  • Ricardo Horta (SC Braga)
  • Goncalo Ramos (FC Benfica)
  • Andre Silva (RB Leipzig)


  • Diogo Dalot (Manchester United)
  • Joao Cancelo (Manchester City)
  • Danilo Pereira (Paris St Germain)
  • Pepe (FC Porto)
  • Ruben Dias (Manchester City)
  • Antonio Silva (SL Benfica)
  • Nuno Mendes (Paris St Germain)
  • Raphael Guerreiro (Borussia Dortmund)


  • Joao Palhinha (Fulham FC)
  • Ruben Neves (Wolverhampton Wanderers)
  • Bernardo Silva (Manchester City)
  • Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)
  • Joao Mario (SL Benfica)
  • Matheus Nunes (Wolverhampton Wanderers FC)
  • Vitinha (Paris St Germain)
  • William Carvalho (Real Betis)
  • Otavio (FC Porto).

Can Portugal fulfill Ronaldo’s dream this time?

Fans’ expectations for Portugal are stronger than ever thanks to the addition of a mix of seasoned players and youthful talent, some of whom have experience at the biggest clubs in Europe. Portugal has been seeded in Group H with Ghana, Uruguay, and South Korea. The team will face the fierce team of Ghana in their opening game of the FIFA World Cup 2022. In their next group-stage game, they will face Uruguay, a tough opponent against whom they hope to exact retribution. Both teams played each other in the Round of 16 of the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia, where Portugal were crushed by Urgway 2-1. Portugal’s final league game will be against the Asian team South Korea. Although it is impossible to win any event as big as FIFA on a shoulder of a single player, Portugal will be highly dependent on its star player Ronaldo. The Portuguese striker, who has excelled both individually and as a teammate for the nation, has been working hard in preparation for the World Cup. The event is just a few days away, so fans are hoping he returns to his top goalscoring form as soon as possible.

Portugal fixtures

  • Portugal vs Ghana ( November 24, 9:30 PM IST)
  • Portugal vs Uruguay (November 29, 12:30 AM IST)
  • Portugal vs South Korea (December 2, 8:30 PM IST)