ATK Mohun Bagan
Image Credit: FSDL

ATK Mohun Bagan edged NorthEast United in a thrilling 2-1 victory to move up to the second position in the Indian Super League standings.

ATK Mohun Bagan secured a spectacular  2-1 victory over NorthEast United in the 2022–23 Indian Super League. Mohun Bagan, who now have three victories under their belt, moved up to second place in the ISL standings with 10 points after five games. Before the game started, the odds were firmly in favor of ATK Mohun Bagan because the team had a better track record and stability than the faltering NorthEast United, which had lost all of its games this season. NorthEast did a lot better than expected and displayed promising gameplay throughout the match, but the influence of the in-form and confident Mohun Bagan players was just too much for them to overcome.

ATK Mohun Bagan Table

ATK Mohun Bagan will face FC Goa at their home ground Fatorda Stadium on November 20. Only one point separates Mohun Bagan and Goa in the points standings, making it possible for Goa to overtake Mohun Bagan for second place in their upcoming matchup. Meanwhile, it will be a good chance for Mohun Bagan to distance themselves from the third-place team with three more points. NorthEast United, on the other hand, will take a break during the following Matchweek and return the subsequent week with a highly anticipated showdown versus Mumbai City FC on November 25. The team will try to score their first point of the season against Mumbai, who are undefeated so far and currently standing on the fourth palace with 9 points, two wins, and three draws.

ATK Mohun Bagan vs  NorthEast United – Match Summary

ATKMB managed to get through the NorthEast defense five minutes past the halfway point. Hugo Boumous seized on Parthib’s misplaced pass in the center of the field and skillfully passed it to Liston Colaco, who made no mistake in putting the ball in the net. The 23-year-old winger, who was the most energetic player on the field right off the bat, scored the opening goal for his team, giving them the drive to pressure the opposition’s defense. Although he wasted multiple opportunities, his darting runs always kept NEUFC’s defenders at bay. Both teams made a few more tries to score, but they came up empty-handed. Mohun Bagan led the game going into the second half, 1-0.

Mohun Bagan
Image Credit: Pal Pillai /Focus Sports/ ISL

Pragyan attempted a long-range shot ten minutes into the second half and came agonizingly close to scoring. The wayward ball fell to Parthib directly in front of the goal, but Ashish Rai partially blocked his attempt. Ashish Rai, however, partially blocked his attempt, and the loose shot was quickly intercepted by Parthib just in front of the goalpost. The first thirty minutes of the second remained unfruitful for both teams despite some good efforts from Dimitri Petratos, Pragyan, Manvir Singh, and Liston Colaco. The game to the final 10 minutes, which ended up being the decisive minutes that gave fans an action-packed experience and players an extremely pressurized situation to play in.

The tenacious efforts of North East were finally rewarded with a much-needed goal in the 81st minute when their Australian defender Aaron Evans capitalized on a corner kick. By scoring with a flying header, Aaron brought the score to 1-1. Aaron’s magnificent strike allowed the NorthEast side to get back into the match, but the Highlanders were left heartbroken right away. Subhasish Bose, who was making his 99th ISL appearance, emerged as the match’s hero after scoring the game’s winning goal for ATKMB with a diving header in the 89th minute.

Player’s Rating

ATK Mohun Bagan

  1. Vishal Kaith (GK) [6.5]
  2. Brendan Hamill [7.5]
  3. Subhasish Bose [8.5]
  4. Pritam Kotal [6.5]
  5. Deepak Tangri [7.0]
  6. Asish Rai [7.0]
  7. Joni Kauko [7.5]
  8. Hugo Boumous [8.0]
  9. Dimitri Petratos [7]
  10. Manvir Singh [6.5]
  11. Liston Colaco [7.5]

NorthEast United FC

  1. Mirshad Michu (GK) [6.5]
  2. Michael Jakobsen [6.0]
  3. Gurjinder Kumar [6.0]
  4. Joe Zoherliana [5.0]
  5. Aaron Evans [8]
  6. Imran Khan [6.5]
  7. Romain Philippoteaux [6.5]
  8. Emil Benny [6.0]
  9. Pragyan Gogoi [5.5]
  10. Jon Gaztanaga [8.0]
  11. Parthib Gogoi [6.0]