Image Credit: Punjab/ Twitter

The Indian Premier League (IPL), the richest cricket league in the world, spent heavily in mini-auction advance of the 2023 season, signing England all-rounder Sam Curran in IPL’s most expensive purchase ever.

The IPL mini-sale has started in Kochi, and the scene is buzzing with excitement as some of the biggest names in sports are getting ready to go up for auction once more. There have been many developments thus far, including the breaking of the IPL all-time bidding record by three players. After a competitive bidding war with Chennai Super Kings, Punjab Kings broke the bank to get English all-rounder Sam Curran for Rs 18.50 crore, making him the most expensive purchase in the history of IPL.

Kane Williamson, the former captain of Hyderabad, and Odean Smith were traded to the reigning champion Gujarat Titans. Pooran was also bought for big bucks by Lucknow after a bidding war with Delhi Capitals. Harry Brook and former captain of the Punjab Kings Mayank Agarwal, were acquired by Sunrisers Hyderabad, the team with the largest opening budget of the day. With a basic price of 1.5 crores, England batter Will Jacks was purchased by Royal Challengers Bangalore for 3.2 crores.

Moreover, Punjab Kings bought Sikander Raza, while Jason Holder was traded to Rajasthan Royals for Rs 5.75 crore, their only purchase today. Gujarat Titans paid Rs 6 crore to get Shivam Mavi, who formerly played for KKR in many seasons. Delhi Capitals forked over Rs 5.5 crore and Rs 2.4 crore for young Mukesh Kumar and seasoned hitter Manish Pandey, respectively. Vivrant Sharma, the talented J&K batter, was bought by Sunrisers Hyderabad for Rs. 2.6 crore and Ajinkya Rahane was acquired by Chennai Super Kings for Rs. 50 lakh. Numerous popular players, including Rilee Rossuw, Travis Head, Mandeep Singh, Dawid Malan, and Shakib-al-Hasan, were left on the market unpurchased.

IPL Teams with their purchase on the first day of the

IPL-Mini Auction

Chennai Super Kings

  • Ajinkya Rahane (Rs 50 lakh)
  • Ben Stokes (Rs 16.25 crore)
  • Shaik Rasheed (Rs 20 lakh)
  • Kyle Jamieson (Rs 1 crore)
  • Nishant Sindhu (Rs 60 lakh)

Gujarat Titans

  • Kane Williamson (Rs 2 crore)
  • Odean Smith (Rs 50 lakh)
  • KS Bharat (Rs 1.2 crore)

Sunrisers Hyderabad

  • Harry Brook (Rs 13.25 crore)
  • Mayank Agarwal (Rs 8.25 crore)
  • Heinrich Klaasen (Rs 5.25 crore)
  • Adil Rashid (Rs 2 crore)
  • Mayank Markande (Rs 50 lakh)
  • Upendra Singh Rawat ( Rs 25 lakh)
  • Vivrant Sharma (Rs 2.6 crore)
  • Samarth Vyas (Rs 20 lakh)
  • Sanvir Singh ( Rs 20 lakh)

Punjab Kings

  • Sam Curran (Rs 18.50 crore)
  • Sikandar Raza (Rs 50 lakh)

Rajasthan Royals

  • Jason Holder (Rs 5.75 crore)

Mumbai Indians

  • Cameron Green (Rs 17.5 crore)
  • Jhye Richardson (Rs 1.5 crore)

Lucknow Supergiants

  • Nicholas Pooran (Rs 16 crore)
  • Jaydev Unadkat (Rs 50 lakh)
  • 54) Yash Thakur (Rs 45 lakh)
  • Romaria Shepherd (Rs 50 lakh)
  • Daniel Sams (Rs 75 lakh)

Delhi Capitals

  • Phil Salt (Rs 2 crore)
  • Ishant Sharma (Rs 50 lakh)
  • Mukesh Kumar (Rs 5.5 crore)
  • Manish Pandey (Rs 2.4 crore)

Royal Challengers Bangalore

  • Reece Topley (Rs 1.9 crore)
  • Himanshu Sharma (Rs 20 lakh)
  • Will Jacks (Rs 3.2 crore)

Kolkata Knight Riders

  • N Jagadeesan (Rs 90 lakh)
  • Vaibhav Arora (Rs 60 lakh)

Here is a complete list of players who remained unsold in the IPL 2023 Auction

Adam Milne
Kusal Mendis
Litton Das
Tom Banton
Chris Jordan
Mohammad Nabi
Wayne Parnell
Jimmy Neesham
Dasun Shanaka
Riley Meredith
Sandeep Sharma
Taskin Ahmed
Dushmantha Chameera
Rohan Kunnummal
Blessing Muzarabani
Travis Head
Mandeep Singh
Dawid Malan
Chintan Gandhi – unsold
Izharulhuq Naveed
Murugan Ashwin

Shreyas Gopal
S Midhun
Rassie van der Dussen
Sherfane Rutherford
Priyam Garg
Mohammad Azharuddin
Shashank Singh – unsold
Daryl Mitchell
Paul Stirling
Sumit Kumar
Joe Root
Rilee Rossouw
Shakib al Hasan
Akeal Hosein
Adam Zampa
Tabraiz Shamsi
Mujeeb Rahman
Anmolpreet Singh
Chethan LR
Shubham Khajuria
Dinesh Bana – unsold
KM Asif
Mujtaba Yousuf
Lance Morris
Saurabh Kumar
Corbin Bosch – unsold
Abhimanyu Easwaran
Himmat Singh- unsold